Testimonials


Dear Grateful Greg and Guitar Doug, 
You two are stars! Thank you to the moon and back for playing at our June 8th, 2013 wedding at the Alders Beach Resort in Merville. You two brought one hell of a party (as you always do!) and we owe so much of the fun had by all to you! All any of the guests talk about is your music, your set list, your incredible skill, and – truth be told – your kickass renditions of Sweet Child of Mine and Stand by Me for our dances. Truly awesome. We’re so thrilled it all worked out for you two to come over, and hope that you enjoyed yourselves as much as we did!
Best,
Luke and Shandell

 

Aug 25th 2013,

When we decided to get married in Whistler, we wanted to make sure we gave our guests a good taste of what our lifestyle and culture is all about, with a unique wedding and a party that would really represent who we are and why we love it here so much.  We knew we had to have Guitar Doug and Grateful Greg -- the Hairfarmers -- or it just wouldn't be the all-encompassing Whistler experience we were dreaming of sharing.  They were everything we'd hoped they'd be and more... I always gauge the quality of a party by how many people are dancing, and every single guest was dancing.  Some of these people, I had never seen dance -- the Hairfarmers had us all rocking out for their entire set.  Fortunately their sound system was loud and crisp enough to drown out those of us who were singing along!  Months later, guests are still saying what a amazing band they were, spanning generations with their pure talent and versatility, but even beyond that, exuding their fun-loving, easy-going attitudes and that legendary Whistler spirit.  So awesome.  Best. Party. Ever.

Ashleigh McIvor and Jay DeMerit - now... The DeMerits.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
June 16th 2013

Coming from Hawaii it seemed only natural that the highlight of our spring break would be the skiing. However, each day we couldn't wait for apres so we could dance the night away with the Hairfarmers! For 7 nights straight we followed them from pub to pub! I returned recently to Vancouver for a Lifemax work event and I knew the party wouldn't be the same unless we had the Hairfarmers! They honored us with their awesome tunes on a private yacht as we rocked up and down Burrard Inlet. I danced so hard it hurt! On land, water, air or space, hands down, the Hairfarmers are my fav!

Kimmy Merril Everet

 

June 8th 2013

Hi Greg,
Thank you!! We've had so many compliments on band choice for the wedding, and our parents' friends in particular were thrilled to hear music they could dance to. Thanks for elevating the status of our wedding to legendary! We had a blast! Might just have to renew our vows next year so we can do it all again :)
All the best,
Shandell

 

May 8th 2013 Conference for Sports Medicine Doctors

Greg

Many thanks to you guys for entertaining a big bunch of docs.... by all accounts it was a fantastic evening and the evaluations from the conference I have received have the band way up there.

Thanks again!

Dawn
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

April 24th 2013 Lululemon Conference

HI Greg!

Thanks for the fantastic Wednesday night. Without a doubt The Hairfarmers were the PERFECT cap to our event.

Cheers, Annie

July 28th 2012
Hi Greg and Doug,

We just wanted to send a quick little note to say THANK YOU! You guys killed it as always! We had no doubt that you guys would make the party, but it was way more fun than we ever expected!
The out of towners were raving about you the next day and couldn't believe how awesome you were!!
Thank you so much for making our day so awesome!!
See you both on a patio soon.
Jazz and Greg

 

Mar 3rd 2012

Hi Greg,
Just wanted to say a big thankyou to you both for playing at our wedding at Spruce Grove last Saturday. All our wedding guests very much enjoyed your music :-)
We look forward to seeing you play again when we are next in Whistler.
Cheers,
Hilary
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sept. 25th 2010

Hi Greg and Doug,

Bianca and I have been reminiscing for days now about how awesome the night was and how big a role you guys played in our wedding. You guys kicked ass and delivered a performance we’ll never forget. That dance floor was epic! You guys were unbelievable and we’re so thankful that you played our wedding.

We’re really looking forward to sharing a cold one with you and Doug up in Whistler this Winter!

Take care and we’ll see you soon,

Andrew & Bianca

 

Sept. 11 2010

Hey There

I just wanted to drop you a note to say how "Blown Away" by you boys we all
were on the weekend...Although the weather did not quite cooperate..a
Fantastic Time was had by all..and many, many rave reviews came your
way....There should be some business come back to you out it as well
hopefully...

Thanks again for putting up with our Crazy Crowd of friends and
neighbours....We will see you again real soon..

Take Care!
Frank

 

August 7 2010

Greg and Doug,

Many, many thanks for your wonderful contribution to Ashley and Alex’s wedding. Everyone LOVED you guys (including the West Van Police!)

We heard from many of our neighbours who said they sat out and listened to you and some even danced.

Many Thanks!
Mother Baker

**Note**  This wedding had some VERY interesting guests...imagine if you will The Hairfarmers playing Irish songs with Will Miller from the Irish Rovers and (ex) Prime Minister Brian Mulroney...true story!

 
July 2010

Hi Greg & Doug,

We just wanted to say a quick thank you for everything. You guys were absolutely fantastic and so professional to deal with, you made our wedding the most amazing day it could possibly have been! I hope your trip back to Vancouver wasn't too unbearable, it is always a little sad leaving another country!

Anyway, we cannot wait to catch up with you guys under less formal circumstances and when Hamish and I don't have our heads spinning around like a couple of crazy people!

Keep well and see you in January!

Love Hamish and Penny Nott!!! xxxx

P.S. if you ever want another trip to Aus let us know we can act as managers for you! ;) - I don't think you will have any trouble getting work out here, everyone is still talking about your performance; and you are always welcome to come stay with us if you are ever over here. Thanks again!
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

June 12 2010

Dear Greg & Doug,

Friday night was unbelievable, Grant had the best time ever! Thank you so much for your incredible music. It’s not often that an evening can bring so much joy and having everyone up dancing to your tunes did it.

Seeing Grandma up dancing and grooving made my night.

I will remember this night forever.

Thank you!!
Hilarie

Hilarie Cousar
Owner/Catering Director
Whistler Cooks Catering

Greg and Doug
The Hairfarmers

29 March 2010
Paralympic Winter Games Whistler

You were fantastic at our closing party to celebrate the Paralympic Winter
Games in Whistler.

When I saw that catalogue in the suitcase of 3OOO songs that really did
blow me away and the quality of your playing and the sympathetic
relationship with your audience was tremendous.

On the plane back to London I was switching on some of the audio, some
of the old songs that I probably have not listened to for years, so you
have really got me back to my youth.

We must see what we can do about London 2012 and who knows you
might be in Sochi in 20I4.

Yours sincerely,
SIR PHILIP CRAVEN, MBE
International Paralympic Committee
President

 

Nov 14 2009

I have had constant fantastic comments from everyone who was there
about what a great party it was and how amazing the Hair Farmers are!
Even the kids loved it and are still raving about it.
Thank you so much for everything...the extra play time, the bonus guest
player and your overall fabulous skill to make a party rock! I can't
say enough.
Might see you Friday night...
Thanks again :)

Cheers

Gillian
Eleni Floral Design and Decor

 

Aug 22 2009

Hey Greg,

I just wanted to shoot you a quick email to thank you and Doug for putting
on a great show last Saturday night. We still have our guests telling us
what a great time it was and you guys were a huge part of that. Really
appreciated.

Graham

 
Aug 29 2009

You guys rule! Thanks for putting on a great show! Our friends and family
were living it up last night. I had an incredible time, it couldn't have
been better.
Thanks again,
Steph

 
July 20th 2009

Hey Doug and Greg.
I just have to say that you guys helped make our week very special. You are certainly fantastic people. We tell all our friends about getting shout outs on our balcony at the Four Seasons.  Anyways thanks for a couple good shows we will remember forever.

Justin and Amanda Taylor

 

July 15th 2009

Greg and Doug,

Mike and I cannot thank you enough for the incredible show you gave us at the wedding. You made the night what it was and that was one incredible party. We have heard nothing but RAVE reviews about you two. Thank you so much. We really appreciated the extra time you took to learn the Ray LaMontagne song. It sounded beautiful.

We have already passed your name along to friends of ours who are getting married next year in Vancouver and will continue to do so for any others we know.

Thank you again.

Kate and Mike



June 30th 2009

Hi Hair Farmers!

Thank you for the great wedding on Sunday - Kate and Michael were in
today and said they had a wonderful time !
Music was great .... thanks again!

When I found out that Chris Read had you as their band for the wedding
on Saturday - night prior - I said that Kate and Michael had to have you
as well ; because anything else would have been a let down .... since
their guests would have heard a little from the rooms at the Lodge - and
they did agree -- so thank you again !

Until next time.....

Linda Marshall
www.whistlerweddingplanners.com

June 15 2009
Good Morning Greg and Doug,

Lorne and I and ALL our guests want to thank you soooo much for a
truly FANTASTIC evening!!!! You guys really made our dream come
true....
It just all came together - WHAT AN AMAZING VIBE :)
You really know how to 'do it'.
You played to us all - aged 10 - 80, from Johnny Cash to ACDC and we
loved it!!Really nice to be able to visit with you in the morning too.
Sure hope we get to do this again sometime and we look forward to
rockin with you at Whistler next season.
Bye for now and here's to a great summer!
Most sincerely....... THANK YOU
Lynn :)

June 19 2009

Hi Greg,

Paul and I just got back from our Honeymoon. Loved it!

We want to say thank you again for making our night so much fun! You guys are amazing to work with...so accomodating. Thank you!

Kristi Gordon
Meteorologist
Global BC

June 12 2009

Hi Doug and Greg

Hope you are enjoying a great summer.

Last month Kids Up Front was pleased to highlight the Hairfarmers’ fundraiser in our summer newsletter, KIDS BIZ. Please see page 5 attached. I thought you’d appreciate seeing this acknowledgement and photo.

Your benefit concert for Kids Up Front was a big success and one of the major events of our year. I look forward to hosting another concert with you in 2010.

Warmest Regards

Cindy Graves

Executive Director

Kids Up Front Foundation (Vancouver)

402 - 134 Abbott St.

Vancouver, BC V6B 2K4

604 266 KIDS (5437)

 

June 5 2009

You're on our list of great, dependable, easy to work with bands! CF (Cadillac Fairview) loved you guys, thanks for making our evening a success.
Scott Knaut

May 13 2009

Hi Doug and Greg.
Just a quick thanks from "the father of the bride" for all you did at Mike and Kelly's wedding. Your show was great, our friend can't say enough..
Also for being so accommodating in helping me and my pal with the"last minute" ukulele mikeing.
All the best
Chip Hand

Feb 29 2008

You and Doug are the best!! Love working with the both of you and
love your musical talent.
Teri Green
Meetings & Site Services, Inc.

July 25 2008

Thank you so much for playing at our wedding. It was so much fun and our guest have not stopped talking about how great you guys were. I loved the music and appreciated you playing and having to wait past the time we had discussed.

Talk to you soon.
Many thanks
Megan

Hey guys,

We just wanted to thank you for making our wedding reception so memorable!
We had a great time, in no short part to the fantastic music and party
atmosphere you guys created for us. Our guests could not stop raving about
the amazing band we had. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you for
some après very soon!

Cheers,
Curt & Kara

Hi Greg,

Thanks again for helping to make such a great party at our wedding. We've
just returned from our honeymoon and people are still saying how much fun
they had dancing. We will definitely pass your name onto anyone I know who
is looking for a band and we look forward to hearing you after skiing next
season.

Anne and Dan